The first 2022 award to be presented was a Solid Ground Award to Panorama Resort in eastern British Columbia.

On left, Patrick Fournier, Director of Panorama Resort Operations; centre, Penny Powers; right, Max Powers

More are coming as local pilots present them.

Final Award of the Year

Winner of the Solid Ground Award Trevor MacMurray, with Norm Krcmar, owner of Paraglide Canada in Vernon (on left) and Glenn Derouin, HPAC Senior Instructor at Paraglide Canada (on right), for Trevor’s development of weather stations throughout the Okanagan region of BC.

Two New Master Ratings Awarded 2015

Congratulations go out to two new Master-rated pilots, Hang Glider pilots Ross Hunter of Calgary and Randy Rauck of Lumby, BC. The Master rating awarded by the Board of Directors is the highest rating in our sport. It is a distinction awarded to pilots who have not only excelled as pilots, but who have also been strong citizens and volunteers in our Association as well as their local clubs. The criteria for a Master rating can be seen at SOP 410.

Other HPAC awards for 2015: Congratulations to all!
Solid Ground Award to Landowners Bert Duncan, Harrison Mills, BC, Produits d’Antoine, Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu, QC, and John McIsaac, Canmore, AB, for their indispensable provision of valued flying sites.
Michael Robertson Instructor of the Year Award to Jacques Blanchet, Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu, QC, for excellence in instruction at his school Voiles 4 Saisons.
Cliff Kakish Award to Nicole McLearn for outstanding volunteer service as HPAC Competition Chair.
Jamie Christensen Memorial Award to Will Gadd for long-term achievement and advocacy for the sport of hang gliding and paragliding worldwide.

The NTSS top rankings for 2015 for hang gliding and paragliding in Canada will be announced later this fall.

HPAC 2014 Awards

Randy Parkin: Cliff Kakish Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service to the Sports of Hang Gliding and Paragliding in Canada

Michael Fuller: Jamie Christensen Memorial Award in Recognition of Long-Term Achievement

Doug T. Nitchie: The Solid Ground Award for Excellence and Creativity in the Development and Protection of Flying Sites

Eric Olivier: The Michael Robertson Instructor of the Year Award

Other awards for 2014 will be announced in the next Newsletter.