News & Announcements

Sad News

This was a year of loss of a number of our fellow pilots. The pilot community across Canada grieves for them.

Samantha Wex, Revelstoke, BC Paragliding pilot (while on a trip in France) (Eulogy by Chris Delworth)

Matthias Jakob, BC Paragliding pilot (while on a trip in Washington State, USA)

Raymond Pigden, Ontario Hang Gliding Tandem Pilot

Joshua Liegmann, BC Speedflying pilot

The HPAC Safety Committee is receiving directly all member-initiated accident reports at HPAC as a national association is also assisting authorities in the various jurisdictions with information about our sport.

New FAI World Record Set by Canadian Armando Acchione of Ontario

The Record is for Speed Around a 50Km Triangular Course, completed on July 10th, 2022, with a Performance of 60.74 km/hour on an Aeriane Swift Light/Class 02 Hang Glider. Thank you to Stewart Midwinter and HPAC/ACVL’s Senior Observer Martin Henry for vetting the claim and submitting the application to FAI.

HPAC/ACVL 2022 Regional Election Results

Four regions were up for Board member election at end of 2022, for Board members to serve from January 1, 2023-December 31, 2024. The following were elected:

  • Atlantic Canada: Matthew Willox (by acclamation) Sydney, Nova Scotia
  • Ontario: Adam Chappell (by acclamation) Ottawa, Ontario
  • Prairies Region: Jon Lovering (reelection) (by acclamation) Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • British Columbia: Tyler Gillies (reelection) Vancouver, British Columbia

National Competition Results

2022 Accuracy National Results by Daniel Vallejo (Meet Director)

This year’s competition was held in Vernon BC Sept 23-25 at the King Eddy flying site.

Read More

Last Awards for 2022

FAI Paul Tissandier Diploma – Margit Nance, HPAC/ACVL Executive Director

Dom Juretic Leadership Award – Will Gadd

Cliff Kakish Service Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service as HPAC/ACVL long time Treasurer – Tim Parker 

Jamie Christensen Memorial Award for Long-Term Service to the Sport in BC – Reto Marti

Instructor of the Year – Jeremy Mason

Solid Ground Award – Bill Nikolai for Long-Term Protection of the Grouse Mountain Flying Site

Solid Ground Award – Réjean Rodrigue for Long-Term Provision of Rimouski Neigette Flying Site in Quebec

Solid Ground Award – David and Jenny Halliday for Long-Term Provision of a Flying Site in Atlantic Canada

Solid Ground Award – Brian Wheaton for contribution of a Treasured Flying Site and the Sport of Hang Gliding and Paragliding in Atlantic Canada

Read More